
       
Legal update 2009 – please keep in mind that this is, by necessity, a summary.  If we were to 
copy all the new laws, it would run to thousands of pages.  Even a detailed summary of every 
provision would be several hundred pages, and that is simply not feasible.  You are encouraged 
to read the complete laws, available at www.oscn.net.  Click on ‘legal research’ and then 
‘Oklahoma statutes citationized’.  You can get the complete history of each bill at the 
Legislature’s website, webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/WebBillStatus/main.html. 
 

Title 21 – Crimes and Punishments 
 
HB 1579 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 21 O.S. § 540C   
This new law makes it a crime to ‘use, construct, position, or hold any device used to 
fortify any door or window of any store, shop warehouse, dwelling house or building, 
or any place whatever which is being used during the attempt or commission of a 
felony CDS crime, for the purpose of preventing entry, delaying or injuring law 
enforcement’.  The punishment is up to five years and/or a fine of $10,000. 
 
HB 1460 (effective May 19, 2009) enacts a new law codified at  21 O.S. 1024.5.  This law 
provides that when a person is engaged in a violation of 21 O.S. § 1024.2 (purchase, 
procurement, or possession of obscene material) the Oklahoma Attorney General or any 
district attorney may conduct an investigation and subpoena witnesses or documents.  
The documents and transcripts are only available to law enforcement officials.  
Knowing removal, withholding, destruction, or falsification of documents is a 
misdemeanor.  Any evidence gathered under this law may not be admissible in a civil 
proceeding. 
 
SB 1020 (effective July 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at  21 O.S. 1040.8A, which 
concerns the transmission of child pornography by use of the internet or by ‘any 
electronic, photo-electronic or photo-optical system’.  Jurisdiction will be proper in any 
county from which the material is sent, or where it is received.    Violation is punishable 
by up to life in prison and/or a fine of $10,000. 
 
SB 730 (effective November 1, 2009)  amends 21 O.S.  § 1283 to clarify that a previously 
adjudicated delinquent or a youthful offender may be  placed in the home of a CLEET 
certified full-time duly appointed peace officer without violating the firearms 
prohibition imposed on the juvenile. 
 
HB 1865 (Effective April 20, 2009) amends 21 O.S. § 1288.  This amendment changes 
the rules on out of state purchases of firearms, ammunition, and handloading 
equipment by Oklahoma residents.    Under the prior statute, such purchases could be 
made only from dealers from contiguous states.  This amendment allows such 
purchases from licensed dealers in any state, so long as the purchaser complies with 
other statutes. 



 
HB 1025 (effective May 22, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 21 O.S. § 1289.27 to 
prohibit a potential employer from asking a job applicant if the applicant owns or 
possesses a firearm.  Violation by a private employer carries punishment of up to 90 
days  and/or a fine of $1,000.  If a public employer violates the law, they are deemed 
outside the scope of employment for purposes of the Governmental Tort Claims Act. 
 
HB 1411 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 21 O.S. 1290.5 to make it possible to 
have a concealed handgun license have a term of 5 years OR 10 years.  The fee for the 10 
year license is twice the fee for a 5 year license. 
 
SB 702 (effective July 1, 2009) amends 21 O.S.  § 741 to change the punishment for 
kidnapping from ‘not exceeding 10 years’ to ‘not exceeding 20 years’, and amends 21 
O.S. 1111.1 to remove ‘consent’ as an element of the crime of rape by instrumentation 
when the victim is 16 to 20 years old and is a student or in state custody, such as in a 
jail. 
 
SB 1013 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 21 O.S. § 1732 to include ‘customer list’ 
and ‘business record’ as the subject of a trade secret, and to apply the law to ‘computer 
related’ formats and means of transmission. 
 
HB 1419 (effective November 1, 2009)  enacts a new law codified at  21 O.S. § 1740.1 
which prohibits the larceny of ‘dimensional stone products’ defined as ‘any natural rock 
product quarried for the purpose of obtaining blocks or slabs that meet specifications as 
to size and shape.  Violation is punishable by up to 1 year and/or a fine of $2,000. 
 
HB 1892  (effective November 1, 2009) amends 21 O.S. § 644 to include ‘the closure of 
the nostrils or mouth as a result of external pressure on the head’ in the definition of 
strangulation. 
 
HB 1360  (effective May 27, 2009) amends 21 O.S. § 650.4 to increase the penalty for 
assault, battery, or assault and battery on an ‘emergency medical care provider’ from a 
misdemeanor to a felony with up to 2 years and/or a fine of $1,000. 
 
HB 1834 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at  21 O.S. § 761 
which defines the crime of ‘female genital mutilation’.  A violation is punishable by 3 to 
20 years and a fine of up to $20,000.  An exception is made for medically necessary 
surgical procedures performed by a licensed physician or a certified nurse-midwife.   
 
SB 844 (effective July 1, 2009) amends 21 O.S. § 842.1 to prohibit ‘scleral tattooing’, 
which is defined as ‘producing an indelible mark or figure on the human eye by 
scarring or inserting a pigment’ on an ocular surface. 
 



SB 789 (effective May 19, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 21 O.S. § 281 which 
creates the misdemeanor offense of knowingly making a false statement in an agency 
internal investigation.  Violation is punishable by up to 1 year and/or a fine of $500. 
 
SB 1138 (effective July 1, 2009) amends sections in Title 21 and Title 47  related to 
child endangerment and DUI –  

1. Amends 21 O.S. § 852.1 to include knowingly permitting a child to be present in 
a vehicle with a reasonable belief that the operator is impaired, or being APC 
with a child in the vehicle.  Violation is punishable by up to 4 years and/or a fine 
of up to $5,000.  It is an affirmative defense that the person had a ‘reasonable 
apprehension’ that to deny  permission for the child to be in the vehicle would 
result in ‘substantial bodily harm to the  person or the child’.   

2. Amends 47 O.S. § 11-902 to match these provisions in Title 21. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Title 47 – Motor Vehicles 
 
HB 1368 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 11-309 to clarify the rules 
about when a person may drive in the right hand lane on a highway with four or more 
lanes.  The amendment states that driving in the right hand lane is not required when 
‘traffic conditions or flow, or both, or road configuration’ requires the use of other lanes 
to maintain safe traffic conditions. 
 
HB 1527 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. §11-1401 to prohibit driving on 
any  portion of a turnpike which has been closed to traffic by OTA and barricaded.  
Violation is a misdemeanor. 
 
SHB 1599 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 6-105 in two ways - 

1.  Increases from 40 to 50 hours the amount of behind-the-wheel driver training a 
person with a learner permit must receive to be eligible for an intermediate 
driver license.  

2. Changes from 11pm to 10pm the latest hour a person with an intermediate driver 
license may drive. 

 
HB 1760 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 752 to require that a test of 
blood, breath, saliva, or urine specimens may determine the presence OR the 
concentration of an intoxicating substance.  Previously, the statute required the test 
determine both presence AND concentration. 
 
HB 2054 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 47 O.S. § 14-103G 
which authorizes the issuance of an annual permit to a specific vehicle or motor carrier 
for oversize or overweight loads that cannot reasonably be dismantled and which meet 
certain specifications.  Those specifications include that the load shall not exceed (1) 12 
feet in width; (2) 14 feet in height; (3)  110 feet in length; or (4) 120,000 pounds gross 
weight. 
 
HB 2252 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 6-110  to remove the 
requirement that DPS provide testing in Spanish for a Class D driver license. 
 
HB 2263 (effective July 1, 2009) makes two changes in Title 47, related to Driving 
While License Suspended.  These include: 

1. Amends 47 O.S. Section 6-303 to require the addition of a 3-month extension to 
any existing period of suspension, revocation or denial when a person is 
convicted of a violation of Section 11-905 (below). 

2. Enacts a new law codified at 47 O.S. Section 11-905 which concerns driving 
without privileges (such as no license or license suspended or revoked)  

a. Causing an accident resulting in personal injury while driving without 
privileges is punishable by up to 1 year and/or $2000. 



b. If ‘great bodily injury’ or death is caused the punishment is up to 5 years 
and/or $5000. 

c. Punishment under this section is in addition to any other proper charges. 
 
SB 388 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 2-123  to include ‘any reserve 
deputy, reserve officer, or firefighter who furnishes their own vehicle for the 
performance of their duty’ to the list of persons who may purchase used vehicles from 
DPS. 
 
HB 2149 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 4-103 to make possession or 
concealment or selling of an  ‘implement of husbandry’ a felony, the same as for a 
‘vehicle’.  This was necessary because the definition of “vehicle” in 47 O.S. 1-186 
specifically excludes an ‘implement of husbandry’. 

 An “implement of husbandry” is defined in 47 O.S. § 1-125 as “Every device, 
whether it is self-propelled, designed and adapted so as to be used exclusively for 
agricultural, horticultural or livestock-raising operations or for lifting or carrying an 
implement of husbandry and, in either case, not subject to registration if operated upon 
the highways.  

1. Farm wagon type tank trailers … used …  supplying the fertilizer to a field applicator 
and moved on highways only for bringing the fertilizer from a local source of supply to 
farms or field or from one farm or field to another…. 

2. Trailers or semitrailers … used exclusively for the purpose of transporting farm 
products to market or for the purpose of transporting to the farm material or things to 
be used thereon …, 

3. Utility-type, all-terrain vehicles with a maximum curb weight of one thousand five 
hundred (1,500) pounds which are equipped with metal front or rear carrying racks 
when used for agricultural, horticultural or livestock-raising operations… . 

 
HB 1803 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. §12-218.1.  This makes two 
changes in the current law concerning use of blue and red and amber lights. 

1.  Authorizes a wrecker, wrecker support vehicle or tow vehicle to be equipped 
with an amber lamp visible for at least 500 feet to the front and rear of the 
vehicle.  This amber light is to be used only when leaving the scene of a tow 
service call and for the purpose of warning approaching motorists. 

2. Adds a ‘wrecker support vehicle’ to the list of vehicles which are allowed to use 
flashing red and/or blue lights at the scene of an emergency. 

 



SB 903 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 47 O.S. § 955  to provide that a ‘licensed 
wrecker operator is not liable for damage to a vehicle, vessel, or cargo that obstructs the 
normal movement of traffic or creates a hazard to traffic and is removed in compliance 
with the request of a law enforcement officer, unless there is failure to exercise 
reasonable care in the performance of the act or for conduct that is willful or malicious’. 
 
HB 2013 (effective November 1, 2009) makes some changes in Title 47 and 36 related 
to insurance verifications forms, procedures, and the information required on the 
verification form, and makes some housekeeping changes.   
Also enacts a new law to be codified at 47 O.S. § 10-118  which prohibits the 
imposition of an accident response fee by law enforcement for the response or 
investigation of an accident.   
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
Title 63 – Public Health and Safety 

 
HB 1365 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 63 O.S. § 4214. This amendment makes 
two changes in the law. 

1. Any vessel operator involved in a collision or incident resulting in death or great 
bodily injury is to submit to drug and alcohol testing, as soon as practicable after 
the collision or accident, and the boating violation will constitute probable cause 
for purposes of testing. 

2. The operator of a boat involved in a collision is required to make a written report 
to DPS, but that report cannot be used in any criminal investigation, proceeding, 
or trial. 

 
HB 1114 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 63 O.S. § 1-727.  
This law makes performing or attempting to perform human cloning a misdemeanor.  
An exception is made for certain scientific experiments. 
 
HB 2250 (effective  July 1, 2009) makes numerous changes, most in Title 63.  These 
include –- 

1. Amends 63 O.S. Section 2-106 to allow OBNDD to purchase and maintain 
vehicles for agency use. 

2. Amends 63 O.S. Section 2-410 to preclude a deferred sentence on a charge of 
money laundering. 

3. Amends 63 O.S. Section 2-503.1i to create a process for seizure of ‘funds 
believed to be used or intended for any violations’ of Title 63. 

4. Amends 63 O.S. Section 2-506 to tighten the forfeiture rules. 
5. Amends 63 O.S. Section 2-508 concerning handling of evidence which includes 

CDS.  Also clarifies the rules on handling and possible sale of (non CDS) 
property no longer needed as evidence. 

6. Amends 20 O.S. Section 1313.2 to add possession of paraphernalia as a basis for 
assessment of the $5 fee, charged for certain offenses, which goes to the ‘Bureau 
of Narcotics Drug Education Revolving Fund’.  This fund is created by a new 
law codified at 63 O.S. Section 2-107b. 

7. Enacts a new law codified at 63 O.S. Section 2-503.1j.  This law requires that  
any licensee of a money transmission service will charge a fee of $5 and up for 
wire transfers to foreign nations.  The money goes to the Drug Money 
Laundering and Wire Transmitter Revolving fund.  The customer is allowed a 
tax credit for fees paid.  This bill also makes the appropriate changes in the Tax 
Code. 

8. Makes housekeeping changes to a few statutes. 
 



HB 1736 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 63 O.S. Section 1-1961 and Section 1-
1962 to increase training requirements for home health care providers and workers.  
This law also requires background checks and nurse aide registry checks for 
employment with home care agencies. 
 
HB 1595 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at  63 O.S. Section 1-
731.1. This law prohibits an abortion ‘solely on account of the sex of the unborn child’.  
This law does not provide imprisonment for a violation, but carries substantial civil 
penalties.  Also makes some changes in Abortion provisions (especially reporting) 
which are not of immediate concern to law enforcement officers. 
 
HB 1707 (effective November 1, 2009)  amends several sections in Title 63. 

1. Amends 63 O.S. § 2-402 to add a fine of up to $5000 to the possible term of 
imprisonment for substances in Schedule I or II (except marihuana) and a fine of 
up to $10,000 for a second or subsequent violation. 

2. Amends the same section to add a fine of up to $1,000 for substances in Schedule 
III, IV, or V or marihuana, and a fine of up to $5,000 for a second or subsequent 
violation. 

3. Amends the same section to add a fine of up to $10,000 for a second or 
subsequent violation of possession near a school or park. 

4. Amends 63 O.S. § 2-410 to limit the use of an expunged arrest or conviction as an 
enhancer for 10 years following the completion of the probationary term, 
provided there are no other convictions. 
 

SB 1166 (effective July 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 63 O.S. § 2849 to allow the 
creation of regional 911 systems. 
 
SB 622 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 63 O.S. § 2200.1A et 
seq. This is a comprehensive law known as the ‘Oklahoma Uniform Anatomical Gift 
Act’ which covers anatomical gifts, amendment to, revocation or, or refusal to make an 
anatomical gift.   Of particular interest to the law enforcement officer is section 
2200.12A, which requires a ‘law enforcement officer, firefighter, paramedic, or other 
emergency rescuer’ to make a ‘reasonable search’ of a person, when the officer believes 
the person is dead or near death, for an organ donor card or other information 
identifying the person as a donor or a person who made a refusal.   Any documentation 
found is to be forwarded to the Hospital. 
 
HB 2030 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 63 O.S. §1-1990.2 et 
seq which creates a ‘Silver Alert’.  This is very similar to the Amber Alert but applies to a 
person who is 60 years or older and who is ‘believed to be suffering from dementia or 
other cognitive impairment’ and ‘whose disappearance poses a credible threat to the 
safety and health of the person’.  The Commissioner of Public Safety is the statewide 
coordinator of the program.  A local enforcement agency is to (1) require the family of 



the missing person to provide documentation of the impaired mental condition; (2) 
determine identifying information;  (3) report the missing person through the national 
crime information center; and (4) terminate the alert when the person is found or the 
situation is otherwise resolved. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

Title 57 - Prisons 
 
HB 2245 (effective June 2, 2009) makes several changes in Title 57 and Title 74.  The 
changes include – 

1. A new law codified at 57 O.S. Section 530.4 which allows the Director of DOC 
to release a prisoner to ICE if the offender is subject to an order of deportation 
and has served at least one-third of the original sentence.  If the deported 
offender returns illegally and is found to be incarcerated, the release can be 
revoked and the prisoner required to serve the remainder of the original 
sentence. 

2. Amends 57 O.S. Section 563.2 to place further limitations on private prison 
housing certain offenders from the federal system or from other states.  The 
changed rules include (1) no prisoners incarcerated on a death sentence; (2) no 
‘enemy combatants’ or terrorists; and (3) DOC has the first option on any 
available housing for offenders. 

3. Amends 57 O.S. Section 563.3 to require that plans for expansions of private 
prisons be submitted to DOC for review. 

4. A new law codified at 74 O.S. Section 3119 which allows a statewide 
organization limited to state employee membership, with at least 2000 members, 
to send one annual statewide mailing to State employees. 
  

HB 1509 (effective  November 1, 2009) amends several statutes regarding registered sex 
offenders.  These include: 

1. Amends 57 O.S. Section 582 to tighten the rules on registration of sex 
offenders who move to Oklahoma from another state or U.S. possession. 

2. Amends 57 O.S. Section 582.2 to change from the risk point assessment 
system to a ‘level assignment’ system based on federal law.  Includes a 
provision that ‘transient’ registered sex offenders must check in with local 
law enforcement every 7 days. 

3. Enacts a new law codified at 57 O.S. Section 590.2 to allow the court to 
remove the registration requirements for certain persons for very limited and 
specific reasons.  The district attorney must be given notice and has the 
opportunity to object. 

4. Amends 21 O.S. Section 440 to include harboring a sex offender to elude 
arrest or avoid registration requirements. Violation is punishable by up to 1 
year and/or $500. 

 
SB 796 (effective May 22, 2009) amends 57 O.S. Section 563.4 to limit the locations of 
transitional living centers which house sex offenders or persons convicted of capital 
crimes, and to require very specific notice to governmental agencies. 



 
 

Title 22 – Criminal Procedure 
 

SB 1075 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 22 O.S. § 471.2.  This law modifies the 
rules on eligibility to participate in drug court to include a person who has no prior 
felony conviction for a violent offense within the past 10 years.  Previously there was no 
time limitation on the exclusion from participation in drug court. 
 
SB 613 (effective November 1, 2009)  amends 22 O.S. § 982a to provide that the court 
may not defer imposition of judgment and sentence during a judicial review of a prior 
sentence.  This also makes technical changes in the definition of an ‘offender’ in 22 O.S. 
§ 996.1, the delayed sentencing program for young adults. 
 
SB 539 (effective July 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 22 O.S. § 984.4.  This law 
requires an interviewing officer to inform, in writing, the victim of a violent crime, (or a 
responsible adult if the victim is a minor or an incompetent person), of the services 
available to victims of violent crimes.  This is to be done by a written statement which 
includes (1) the right to request charges be filed; (2)  the right to request protection and 
be provided with information on the level of protection available; (3) the right to be 
informed of financial assistance and social services available; (4) the right to a free 
forensic medical examination for sexual assault; (5) the right to prepare and present a 
victim impact statement;  and (6) the right to be informed by the district attorney of 
other victim’s rights available and the telephone number of the D.A. and victim witness 
coordinator. 
 
SB 612 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 22 O.S. § 1176 to require that a defendant 
who wants to raise the question of ‘mental illness or insanity’ must file a notice with the 
court within 30 days of the formal arraignment.  Any request for a court appointed 
mental health professional must be made at the same time as the notice. 
 
HB 1413 (effective  November 1, 2009) amends 22 O.S. § 152 to include a statute of 
limitations for the crime of  ‘false personation or identity theft’.  Any prosecution is to 
be commenced within 5 years of the discovery of the crime.  This law also amends 22 
O.S. § 991f to extend the possible term for  the D.A. restitution and diversion program 
from 2 years to 3 years, and makes some housekeeping changes. 
 
SB 518 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 22 O.S. § 984 to add ‘grandparent’ to the 
list of ‘members of the immediate family’ who may make and present a victim impact 
statement at trial. 
 
HB 1674 (effective November 1, 2009) makes several changes in Title 22 related to 
citations  



1. Enacts a new law codified at 22 O.S. § 1115.1A  concerning a person who is 
arrested solely for a ‘misdemeanor violation of a state traffic law or municipal  
traffic ordinance.  The person is to be released on personal recognizance IF – 

a. the arrestee has a valid license issued by Oklahoma or another state which 
participates in the Nonresident Violator Compact 

b. the officer is satisfied as to the identity of the arrestee and certifies the date 
and time and location of the violation. 

c. The arrestee makes a written promise to appear as provided on the 
citation 

d. The violation is NOT – 
i. A felony 

ii. A negligent homicide 
iii. DUI or APC 
iv. Eluding or attempting to elude 
v. DUS or never had a license issued 

vi. An arrest based on a warrant 
vii. A traffic violation coupled with any of the above 

e. The officer is to include on the citation 
i. The traffic charge 

ii. Record information from the drivers license 
iii. Motor vehicle make, model, and tag 
iv. Date and time to appear in court or pay the citation 
v. Signature of the arrestee 

f. If the arrestee does not appear or pay, the court may issue a warrant, and 
notify DPS and request a suspension of the license. 

2. Enacts a new law codified at 22 O.S.  Section 1115.2B which provides more 
details on the ‘release on personal recognizance’ law above.  If the arrestee 
refuses to sign the citation, the officer ‘shall deliver the person to the appropriate 
magistrate for arraignment’.  The person may be jailed if the magistrate is not 
available or may post bond if appropriate under other statutes. 

a. If the arrestee is a juvenile, they must be held separately from any adult 
offender. 

b. The officer is not required to arrest IF – 
i. The offender is a juvenile 

ii. The offender is injured, disabled, or incapacitated 
iii. Arrest will require impoundment of a vehicle containing livestock 

or perishable cargo 
iv. Extraordinary circumstances exist 

c. The law is not meant to – 
i. Create a duty for an officer to release a person from custody 

ii. Create a duty for an officer to make inquiry or investigation of any 
condition which may justify release 



iii. Create any liability for the officer or department for a decision to 
release or not release. 

3.  Makes some housekeeping changes to 22 O.S. Section 1115.5 which concerns 
suspension of a drivers license. 

 
SB 1103 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 22 O.S. § 73 which 
provides an affirmative defense justifying the use of deadly force by a pregnant woman 
to protect the unborn child if reasonably necessary under the circumstances.  This 
affirmative defense does not apply to (1) acts committed by someone other than the 
pregnant woman; (2) acts where retreat is possible and safe; or (3) defense of embryos 
existing outside of the womb. 
 
SB 653 (effective May 21, 2009) amends 22 O.S. § 982 which concerns judicial review of 
sentences of imprisonment.  This amendment changes the information to be included in 
the DOC report made to the reviewing judge, and requires that the report be made 
available to the inmate, the inmate’s lawyer, and the district attorney. 
 
HB 1008 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 22 O.S. Section 152 to enact a statute of 
limitations of 7 years for the crime of arson. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Title 10 - Children 
 
As a result of a multi-disciplinary task force study, massive changes were made to the 

Oklahoma Juvenile Code in the last legislative session.  The changes are so numerous 
that the document outlining the changes (not the actual changes, the list of changes) 
contains 43 pages.  This summary is not intended to be, and cannot be, a comprehensive 
examination of this massive bill.   
 
The main focus of the changes is on the “deprived” section of the code, with most 
changes affecting the Department of Human Services.  Almost all statutes dealing with 
Deprived Children, Delinquents, and Youthful Offenders have been moved from Title 
10 to Title 10A. 
 
Custodial Interrogation of youthful offenders has changed.  For statements to be 
admissible, any custodial interrogation of a person under 16 years old must have 
parent/adult caregiver present and both must be informed of the accused child’s rights.   
If an attorney is requested, the court shall appoint an attorney regardless of an 
attempted waiver by the parents. 
 
The child abuse statute formerly found at 10 O.S. Section 7115 has been moved to 
Title 21.  No substantive changes were made in the Statute. 
 
All reports of suspected abuse will be processed through a Hotline. 
 
Several changes have been made in protective custody procedures.  A Peace Officer 
must determine that an ‘imminent safety threat’ exists prior to putting an alleged 
deprived child into protective custody.  Police protective custody is no longer defined 
by whether the child’s surroundings endanger the health, safety or welfare of the child.  
An ‘imminent safety threat’ is a threat of serious harm due to child abuse or neglect 
occurring in the present or in the very near future and, without intervention, the child 
would likely sustain severe or permanent injury or death.  
 
DHS is to develop a joint response system for times when an officer places a child in 
protective custody, including a point of contact and a protocol for conducting safety 
evaluation at the scene to determine if a safety threat exists and if placement can be 
with a relative without DHS emergency custody.  The child is not considered in DHS 
custody until DHS has completed a safety evaluation and concluded there is an 
imminent safety threat and the court has issued an order of emergency custody. 
 
When a child is in police protective custody or DHS emergency custody, an FBI  name-
based search shall be done on all person over 18 residing in an emergency placement.  
On DHS request in these situations, law enforcement shall conduct a records search 



including protective orders and outstanding warrants for all adults residing in the 
emergency placement and provide DHS with a verbal response. 
 
SB 894 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 10 O.S. § 7104  to include persons who 
are, or are  reported to be, victims of rape, rape by instrumentation, or forcible sodomy, 
or any form of sexual assault in the mandatory reporting requirements for medical 
providers.   
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Title 70 - Schools 
 
SB 335 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 70 O.S. Section 3311 in several ways. 

1. CLEET is deemed a ‘law enforcement agency’ with powers to act as ‘necessary to 
ensure the professional training and continuing education of law enforcement 
officers’ 

2. Allows CLEET to receive investigative reports and  other documents from local, 
county, and state agencies for use in disciplinary actions 

3. Allows CLEET to summarily suspend certification of a peace officer if the 
officer’s actions ‘present a danger to the peace officer, the public, a family or 
household member, or involve a crime against a minor. 

4. Adds ‘abuse of office’ to the list of actions for which a peace officer’s certification 
may be subject to revocation 

 
SB 1084 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 70 O.S. Section 
3311.11.  This law requires that any person who desires to attend a CLEET academy 
must – 

1. Pass a reading and writing comprehension examination administered and 
approved by CLEET ‘to assure the applicant can read and write on a level 
necessary to perform the requirements of the CLEET academy’. 

2. Pass a physical agility test approved by CLEET ‘to assure the applicant is in 
sufficient physical condition to avoid unnecessary injury’ during academy 
training. 

3. Execute a promissory note designed to cover the cost of training.   If a new peace 
officer leaves the law enforcement profession within 4 year of certification, the 
officer must repay the costs of training on a pro rata basis.  An officer who leaves 
employment has 90 days to find employment with another law enforcement 
agency before payment is due.  Payment may be waived if the officer enters 
active military service, or for other exceptional circumstances as determined by 
the Director. 

 
HB 1095 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 70 O.S. Section 821.81 et seq. (Uniform 
Athlete Agents Act) to prohibit any contact between an agent and an ineligible athlete.  
Violation is punishable by up to 1 year and/or a fine of $10,000. 
 
HB 1598 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts several new laws in Title 70 and amends 
the Governmental Tort Claims Act in title 51.  Changes of especial interest to law 
enforcement officers include— 

1. A new law codified at 70 O.S. Section 6-140 et seq. known as the ‘School 
Protection Act’ 

2. A new law codified at 70 O.S. section 6-143 which makes it a crime for any 
person age 18 or over to, with ‘specific intent’ make a false accusation of criminal 
activity against an education employee.  A violation is punishable by a fine of up 



to $2,000.  If the offender is age 7 to 17, they may be sentenced to community 
service.  The law does not cover persons elected to administrative positions in 
educational entities. 

3. A new law codified at 70 O.S. Section 6-146 which provides for the suspension 
of a student who has acted in a manner likely to ‘reasonable cause bodily injury 
to an educational employee or school volunteer.  Also amends 70 O.S. Section 

24-101.3 to accomplish the same purpose. 
4. Amends 51 O.S. Section 155 (G.T.C.A.) to prohibit suits against School Districts 

for the use of ‘necessary and reasonable force’ to ‘control and discipline’ a 
student 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Miscellaneous Titles 
 

Title 5 – Attorneys 
 
SB 401 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 5 O.S. Section 1 to allow licensed 
attorneys to serve as deputy sheriffs. 
 

Title 11 – Cities and towns 
 
HB 1007 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 11 O.S. Section 36-101a to require that 
new handicapped parking signs be of a specific design.  Current signs remain in effect 
until replaced by the new signs. 
 
SB 348 (effective April 14, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 11 O.S. Section 14-114 
and amends 19 O.S. Section 455 to allow municipalities and counties to offer rewards 
of up to $1,000 for prosecution of persons stealing city or county property, including 
road signs. 
 

Title 29 – Game and Fish 
 
HB 1464 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 29 O.S. Section 4-
144 which prohibits hunting of black bears without a license.  Violation is punishable by 
up to 6 months and/or a fine of $500. 
 

Title 36 - Insurance 
 
SB 533 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 36 O.S. § 3636 to provide that a rejection 
of uninsured motorist coverage (or an election for lower limits) remains effective when 
a policy is renewed, reinstated, replaced, or amended.  ‘Any changes to an existing 
policy, regardless of whether these changes create new coverage, do not create a new 
policy and do not require the completion of a new (uninsured motorist coverage) form’. 
 

Title 37 – Intoxicating Liquors 
 
SB 1146 (effective May 8, 2009)  amends  37 O.S. Section 8.2 to increase the penalties 
for allowing a person under 21 who is at the person’s residence or building or land to 
consume alcohol beverage (not to include “low point beer”) or CDS.  Any person who 
violates the section, and the actions cause great bodily injury or death, may be punished 
by imprisonment up to 5 years, and/or a fine of $2,500 to $5,000 in addition to any other 
penalty provided by law. 
 



 
 

Title 40 – Labor 
 
HB 1934 (effective August 20, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 40 O.S. Section 472.  
This law sets out training and certification requirements for amusement ride operators. 
 

Title 43 – Marriage 
 
HB 1739 (effective November 1, 2009) amends several statutes in Title 43.  The effect 
of this law is to establish a rebuttable presumption that a parent who has been involved 
in ‘domestic violence, stalking, or harassment’ should not get custody of a child in a 
custody dispute.  Also places very restrictive rules on visitation in these circumstances.   
 

Title 43A – Mental Health 
 
HB 1616 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 43A O.S. § 5-207  This section concerns 
persons who appear to be, or state that they are, ‘mentally ill, alcohol-dependent, or 
drug dependent to a degree that immediate emergency action is necessary’.  The 
amendment authorizes a law enforcement officer to transport a medically unstable 
person to a medical facility for medical treatment.   When the person becomes medically 
stable, and still requires treatment, the officer is to immediately transport the person to 
‘the nearest facility designated by the Commissioner’ of DMH&SAS for an initial 
assessment.  If it is determined at the initial assessment that emergency detention is 
warranted, the officer is to transport the person to the nearest designated facility that 
has bed space available. 
 
SB 597 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 43A § 5-207.  This law authorizes a law 
enforcement officer to transport certain persons in need of treatment to a facility in 
another state, under certain conditions which include (1) the facility designated by the 
Commissioner of Public Safety is more than 50 miles from the County Seat; (2) the other 
state has entered into the Interstate Compact on Mental Health; (3) the facility in the 
other state is properly accredited; (3) the facility in the other state is the nearest to the 
County Seat; and (4) the facility in the other state has agreed to receive the person. 
 

Title 51 - Officers 
 
HB 1049 (effective November 1, 2009) amends 51 O.S. § 24A.8 to modify the Open 
Records Act relating to law enforcement records.  This changes the language from "a 
chronological list of incidents relating to the arrest" to "a chronological list of all 
incidents". 
 



SB 899 (effective July 1, 2009) amends 51 O.S. § 24.1 to clarify that any “elected State or 
County Officer or Employee who, during the term for which he or she is elected or 
appointed” is convicted of (or enters a plea of guilty or no contest to) a felony of 
‘bribery, corruption, forgery or perjury or any other crime related to the duties of his or 
her office or employment, or related to campaign contributions or campaign financing’ 
forfeits the office or employment.  Retirement benefits are also forfeited, with certain 
limitations.  This applies even if the officer or employee is convicted or pleads after 
leaving office or employment. 
 

Title 61 – Public buildings and public works 
 
HB 1608 (effective July 1, 2009)  amends 61 O.S. Section 3 to provide that ‘public 
employees’ or ‘public safety professionals’ who are not otherwise ineligible must be 
paid pursuant to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. 
 

Title 74 – State Government 
 
HB 1330 (effective November 1, 2009) enacts a new law codified at 74 O.S. Section 
4110 which allows a privately-paid-for monument to the 10 Commandments to be built 
at the Capitol.  The law includes several provisions to try to make it consistent with the 
Constitution. 
 
 
 


